Utterly Lovable Goofball

 

imgresCassidy’s Anniversary Caper is written about an utterly lovable, flawed and quirky woman. Even though I am not a full on klutz, I could relate to Cassidy. When I was a girl they used to call me Miss Spill…that was until they realized that I needed glasses. I was seeing double and often chose the wrong glass when pouring.

Unlike Cassidy, I actually know how to cook a delicious turkey dinner. But I’m not perfect Betty Crocker wife either. I’ve been known to forget I am boiling water, heating up a frozen dinner in a pan (I can cook, but I’m generally lazy.) or that the hotdog I’m trying to char in the oven has gone full on charcoal stick.

Thing is the kitchen is downstairs and I dwell on the second floor. My office is on the second floor as well. So my culinary bungles happen when I fall down the internet rabbit hole: Facebook, Email, and I’ve been known to be a click-bait addict. I must know the ten facts that I didn’t know about Charmed, my absolute favorite witchy show that hasn’t been on the air in years. Cue me burning my mom’s favorite plastic mixing bowl. In my defense, I was not cooking anything on the burner, but the heat from the oven found it’s way to the cooktop, warping the bottom of the bowl. 20131111_154435

The folks at Ylva thought it would be groovy to have us cook from the recipe that follows our story. In my case, it was the proper way to roast a turkey. Captain procrastinator that I am, I waited until the deadline to cook the sucker. To be honest, my foot dragging was more about making an elaborate mess and cooking more food than I wanted to eat, but I digress. (The photo is Quinn when we first brought him home).

I sent Ilia to the store to get the stuff we didn’t have at home. When I went to get started, I touched a VERY frozen turkey. The exact same dilemma that Cassidy encountered as she was trying to make a romantic meal for her anniversary. When I, in a state of extreme distress, asked Ilia why on EARTH would you buy a frozen turkey? She slung back, telling me it was my fault for procrastinating. Turns out turkey has a season or that unfrozen turkey has a season, and that would be Thanksgiving, not full-on spring.

Seeing my extreme alarm, she insisted she would prepare the turkey. Which took hours and hours and hours…did I mention hours? It did look snappy, but as you would expect, the turkey closest to the bone wasn’t cooked through. So I put the parts that were uncooked back in the oven, for you guessed it: hours and hours and hours. The final result was partially dried out and partially decent turkey for sandwiches.

51WNrpGn89LTurns out I am much more Cassidy than I was willing to admit when I first started writing Cassidy’s Anniversary Caper. So go on, buy Order Up and play So True, So False like they do on E! News.

You can buy Order Up on the Ylva Website, Amazon, and Barnes and Noble.

Please check out my fellow Order Up Blog Tour mates:
Yesterday, CK Combs wrote about Daddy’s Hot Appetizer on her Butchtastic Blog.
Marie Sterling, will be blogging about The Way to a Woman’s Heart on R.G. Emanuelle‘s Website tomorrow.

About the anthology: 
Join Chef R.G. Emanuelle and sous chef Andi Marquette as they return to the kitchen to cook up another menu in their continuing quest to explore the sensuous qualities of food and illustrate how the act of preparing and eating it can engage much more than simply taste and smell. Food can become many things, from a gateway to greater intimacy to the creation or rediscovery of a connection. To help them in their quest, Andi and R.G. rounded up another group of cooks who created an array of dishes and meals, which they present to you here in a menu that ranges from sweet and romantic to sultry and seductive, from a relationship’s first tentative taste to the many layers of one that has simmered long and slow.

 

Leave a Reply

